PDA

View Full Version : PS7 enormous file size ???


FlossHogg
10-08-2003, 12:04 AM
Hey guys, quick ??...

granted its a large file, but, PS 7 I'm working on a hi res PSD that is 4000 x 3000px- 300 DPI- RGB for a poster and it's just shy of 300 megs!!!!.....it has about 15 layers and I cant for the life of me figure out wth is going on..it is version _05 of consecutive saves and when looking at there file sizes its jumps from about 80 to 100 to 289 megs...am I missing something here? it takes about 3 mins to load and 5 mins to save on a powerful computer,,,,,thanks in advance people

Matt:shrug:

:buttrock:

dpvtank
10-08-2003, 04:21 AM
resize it first and then do your layer stuff on it..once it's all done, you should blow up your image size again

warning: DO NOT CHANGE YOUR DPI SETTINGS

singularity2006
10-08-2003, 06:18 AM
I think doing the math, that file size is about correct. Think about it, each layer @ those dimensions is like a file in itself.... @ 300 DPI, you essentially increase the file size by 4x normal resolution, so 15x4x3(to account for the huge dimensions), which is like 180x bigger than a regular single file, 72DPI, @ approx 1000px or less in any dimension. A regular file of 72DPI of approx 1000px uncompressed JPEG would yield a file of about 1.6MB. Sounds about right. Anyhow, I've seen plenty of photoshop files that size.

What type of art are u doing btw? If ur doing vector illustration type stuff, your solution for file size is to do the whole thinger in Illustrator... nice small file sizes with infinite scalability. =)

Ian Jones
10-08-2003, 03:01 PM
I accidentally created a 1024*768 cm <--- I meant to check pixels! and it came out as a blank white 1.2gig image! arg! :)

Maven
10-08-2003, 09:14 PM
I have file that big all the time. I work in B and C size sheet all the time, and at 300 dpi with alot of text and layers with blending options and stuff, then they easily get this big.

FlossHogg
10-11-2003, 07:20 AM
Thanks very much for the responses, I managed to make my way through it...I really had no idea that type of file size was within reason, unfortunalty singularity, I know jack shiz as far illustrator goes ,I really should get on that ,but for now this was a cmyk raster full color image for a magazine advertisment...again thanks for the insight all, I'm certain to have more problems in the future and Im glad to see I can come somewhere for peice of mind :thumbsup:
Matt:surprised

halo
10-12-2003, 07:18 PM
large files with layers will always generate large files.

Things to check

1) turn off maximise compatability in prefs

2) check your working in 300dpi rather than 300dpcm

3) run a crop on your image to exclude any image that may be outside of the canvas area, this can add a lot of filesize and is easy to miss

4)check your actual filesize rather than photoshops document displayed size, they are not the same thing.

changing the image size whilst not touching the dpi will make no difference to the filesize because dpi is a virtual measurement and you will still be dealing with a 4000x3000 pixel image, which is what generates the filesize. Changeing 4000x3000 to 1000x750 will reduce your filesize but it will make it a low res image and useless to re-enlarge from.

FlossHogg
10-14-2003, 07:05 AM
Originally posted by halo
3) run a crop on your image to exclude any image that may be outside of the canvas area, this can add a lot of filesize and is easy to miss





:buttrock: YEEEAH HALO, that chopped it in half, i gotta watch for that...thnkx!
Matt

halo
10-14-2003, 12:25 PM
cool :)

theGuest
10-15-2003, 11:04 AM
Ya, that's why they call it "big data". :thumbsup:

:wavey:

singularity2006
10-15-2003, 06:04 PM
one time i messed w/ my friend's actions settings in PS and forced it to create a file over 1GB large. =) He was not happy... TeeEEHeeeE. :D

Primitive
10-15-2003, 09:18 PM
3,35 GB is the most I can get when creating a new file, I don't even want to know what would happen if I click Ok.

And Photoshop CS can even go beyond that size, yikes.

halo
10-15-2003, 10:09 PM
thats wierd cos PS has a 2gb file size limit due to its 32 bit programming. Are you talking about scratch/document sizes?

Anyway CS will do bigger, thank fk.

Primitive
10-15-2003, 10:45 PM
Originally posted by halo
thats wierd cos PS has a 2gb file size limit due to its 32 bit programming. Are you talking about scratch/document sizes?

Anyway CS will do bigger, thank fk.

I just opened up the new file dialog and maxed out all the settings. Couldn't go higher than 3,35gb.

Never clicked ok though. Either photoshop would say no, or my computer would go insane.

halo
10-15-2003, 11:51 PM
LOL...

yeh although you can goto 32000x32000 pixels wide, 2gb is the file size limit on disk, so if you ever get near to that in ps7 and below start saving early...its caught a few people out because the app lets you work on it, just not save

erikals
10-19-2003, 08:54 PM
My trick ;)
Hide all visible layers, then save.

Halo: No, usually the file size will decrease as well, though it does vary. I've been able to reduce the filesize to 90% of original size, but often, the size gets reduced by only 10% or so.

halo
10-19-2003, 11:18 PM
that will only speed up the preview stage of the saving, the data will still be the same size

Neil
10-20-2003, 11:29 PM
i betcha you could knock down the dpi and you could BARELY tell any difference.

Try around 225. and print it then, and if you don't liek it, don't save it. No biggy. But worth a shot.

deleex
10-26-2003, 10:45 AM
Maybe you can comprimessed this big file to an .jpg format,
choose File/Save for web and there you can mix with
your compression.

kex
10-27-2003, 10:11 PM
file/ save to web has an even smaller limit :(youl have to start patching images together when you get to that size

halo
10-27-2003, 10:35 PM
save to web strips everything out from a file including profiles and icons, so save to web is an extreme really, and on a large file will only save you a few kb

anyway the new CS can work with files even as big as 250gb :)

Primitive
10-27-2003, 10:46 PM
Originally posted by halo
anyway the new CS can work with files even as big as 250gb :)

That could come in handy if you're about to make a worldmap. Scale 1:1. :thumbsup:

singularity2006
10-28-2003, 04:33 PM
for practicality's sake, who actually uses files that large in industry anyway???? 250GB??? wowie! :scream:

CGTalk Moderation
01-16-2006, 06:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.