PDA

View Full Version : Generating models


sevenmu
10-30-2010, 11:13 AM
Hi
I want to be able to generate models, that I would have created earlier, at the push of a button.

At the moment, after creating the model, I've been talking the infomation from the listener but it seems a bit long winded.What would be the proper way to do this?

thanks

MiranDMC
10-30-2010, 12:59 PM
Take a look for "scripted geometry plugin" in maxscript help.
It shows how to create new primitive object.

If you won't it be parametric, but just load earlier created object you can try other way.
For simple objects you can read it's vert, faces, uvw arrays and paste it into your script.
Then create new node and use setMesh to apply verts, faces...

For more complicated objects you can save them to files, and load when needed.

CGTalk Moderation
10-30-2010, 12:59 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.