PDA

View Full Version : Modeling Theroy

cgidesignart
10-26-2010, 09:29 PM
HI,
I am new to 3D modeling, but love it so far, and I am wondering where the best place to get information is. I am not talking software specific, there is a huge amount of that out there, but information that will help make me a better 3D modeler?

The kind of questions I am looking for answers to are:
How do you know when to use quads, triangles, etc.?
How do you get the best edge flow?
How do you best lay out a project?

Things that professionals make decisions on but these are the things that you don't seem to find in software specific books. I already know which software package I like and I know how to get the training on it. I am looking for the other type of training I can't seem to find...

Psyk0
10-29-2010, 12:11 AM
How do you know when to use quads, triangles, etc.?
Quads...
-Whenever you want to use your mesh in a sculpting package
-Where there is a deforming joint / a character's face etc. (areas that deform a lot)
-When i want to quickly select edgeloops of a model, i keep it all quads as long as possible (before optimization), this speeds up uv mapping & rigging process.
-When i want a predictable surface outpout from a subdivision modifier

Fun fact: Triangles are automatically turned to quads by the subdivision algotrithm, the drawback is usually pinching.

Fun fact: 2: even with an all quad mesh, you might see some pinching occur in specific areas that are known as poles, areas where quads are redirecting the flow of the edgeloop. To minimize this, a base mesh could be built as a grid instead of a partially edgelooped mesh.

If we're talking about a subdivision model, then you need to use those poles to your advantage by placing them in areas that aren't supposed to be perfect (the best use would be hinting at bone structure under an humanoid or creature's skin)

Triangles...