PDA

View Full Version : How to take a screenshot of a desktop


naiyo
10-07-2003, 02:07 AM
Does anyone know how to take a screenshot of a desktop?
Can you use photoshop to do it?

Ghostscape
10-07-2003, 02:58 AM
just hit the printscreen key on your keyboard, and then open up any image editor and hit ctrl-v to paste. If you're using a Mac (for some weird reason) You can take screenshots by hitting either shift-f5 or apple-f5 or some combination of F5 and modifier keys.

digitalshaman
10-09-2003, 12:48 AM
command f4 on mac, and itr makes a file, doesnt save it to clipboard

aQu
10-09-2003, 02:16 PM
The Holy PrintScreen is the best for desktop-screensshots, for other screens I 'd use a prog called Fraps.

nojobnoodlez
10-12-2003, 09:55 PM
Mac OS X has a whole bunch of screenshots you can take. You can get the whole desktop in the clipboard (Shift+Command+Control+F3) or as a PDF located on the desktop (Shift+Command+F3). You can also take screenshots of just part of the screen using Command+Shift+F4 for a PDF or Command+Shift+Control+F4 for the clipboard. OR you can take it of just the active window but it take a whole lot of keys and I don't remember 'em. Look up Mac keyboard shortcuts on Google if you need to.


PCs...like everyone said just hit Print Screen button. Fire up Photoshop, Create New and it should have your sizes already inputted...then just paste into it.

CGTalk Moderation
01-16-2006, 07:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.