PDA

View Full Version : Tutorial on Medieval Armor in 3D Studio Max

MatthewSullivan
10-16-2010, 03:54 AM
Hello I am new to 3D Studio Max, and I am trying to find a Tutorial on making Medieval Armor. I have researched Google for two years now. I found that after I bought 3D Studio Max Suite I might have made a mistake. I found more tutorials on Blender and Rhino than on 3d Studio Max, referring to tutorials on making clothes and armor. I am not someone that likes paying $50.00 dollars to $100.00 dollars for someone elseís models only to learn how they did it, by pulling it apart. Then come up with my own artistical way of doing it or making a different approach without copyrighting someoneís polygon count or look. I guess the market is complete with all the other Molderís that make this stuff that they donít need another Molder to help take the load of game design graphics off their shoulders. I am wondering now if I should give up this route and give up my 3d Studio Max dream and just stick to being an Electronic Engineer that works for $12.00 dollars hour soldering and getting cancer.

floatingworld
10-19-2010, 01:36 PM
hi dude....your post sounded like a rant but im answering anyway because no one else will and I've been there so I have sympathy for u..here goes here is the great secret;
.modelling medieval armour is no different to modelling anything else - you just need good reference marerial to begin with....having said that, when it comes to chain mail, there a few tricks that might help you...there is a good tutorial on this by a guy called paul hormis..also theres a script called slipknot or something lkie that which you can use when you come to this feature. good luck

MatthewSullivan
10-19-2010, 06:55 PM