PDA

View Full Version : how to toggle edged Faces in maxscript ?


Gumtoo
10-05-2003, 09:02 PM
i'd like to add a maxscript command to do that to my stack end result toggle script but didn't find anything in the help file

apparently those "Viewport Drawing Methods" should do
it but i didn't manage to achieve any result. :blush:

any idea ?

LFShade
10-06-2003, 07:49 AM
Sorry, but there's currently no access to this in Maxscript:hmm:

RH

Gumtoo
10-06-2003, 08:10 AM
thx you LFShade, i guess you already did look for that seriously.

even with those viewport drawing methods and this

"
gw.setRndLimits <render_limits_name_array>
#polyEdges
This mode causes polygon edges (Edged Faces) to be on.
"
it seems to be only for some kind of direct drawing, right ?


too bad ! let's hope max 6 can do this...

at least, is there a way to simulate a pressed key, so i could
wire that to my actual, edged faces toggle, F4 ?

LFShade
10-06-2003, 08:57 AM
I'm afraid not. This has been discussed many times over, and I certainly wish they would simply expose this stuff. The closest thing I've seen is the "ShadeChange" extension by Andrew Reid (www.snotmonster.com), but it only allows for setting the smooth, faceted and wireframe modes and not edged faces.

I doubt this will have changed in Max6:rolleyes:

RH

Gumtoo
10-06-2003, 09:39 PM
well, i guess this topic is ready to close now !
sorry for the so discussed topic here. :blush:

damned functions that must be far, deep & untouched since the code of max 1. (Dos?)

thx u anyway, i guess that max6 isolines display will help a lot here. :thumbsup:

Equinoxx
10-14-2003, 12:20 PM
you can always use

actionMan.executeAction 0 "369"
unfortunatelly, this itself is a toggle, so if you add this line to a script, there is no way to check what it's current status is.

if it's on and you run the script, it turns it off and visa versa.

Gumtoo
10-17-2003, 09:14 AM
Equinoxx... i'm
:blush:

how did i miss that... i guess my macrorecorder was off when i
checked for something out of it. i'm quite new in the maxscript
thing so i don't have all the good reflexes.

CGTalk Moderation
01-16-2006, 06:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.