PDA

View Full Version : render settings for maya fur


JaredTaylor
10-10-2010, 03:14 AM
Hi,

We had a temporary tutor who mentioned that when using maya fur there are specific render settings that are required to get nice results in mental ray.

The tutors gone, and I don't know how to get in contact with him.

Does anyone know what these settings may be? :)

Thank you.

yogeshsherman
10-10-2010, 11:00 AM
Hi

First of all are you using maya fur or shave and hair ?
Secondly which render you are using mental ray or renderman etc.?
for maya fur there is preset called rapid fur try that one in render globals.
Do not use raytrace shadows if you don't know how to optimise them for fur.
I'll be glad to help you more if you could provide more details related to fur you are trying to render

JaredTaylor
10-10-2010, 10:19 PM
I already provided that information in the original post ;)

maya fur & mental ray

CGTalk Moderation
10-10-2010, 10:19 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.