PDA

View Full Version : Edge loop insertion (Curve)

Mattflip
10-08-2010, 01:07 AM
Hi all, this is my first time on this forum and i hope you can help. My query is..

Is their a way to insert an edge loop into a circle and keep the correct curvature instead of the curve being flattened. I'm use Maya

I'm currently stuck creating a high poly motorbike wheel rim due to this problem, surely their is a way around it??

Thanks all

Mattflip
10-15-2010, 12:34 PM
31 views and no one knows how to insert an edge loop into a circle without it flattening that edge. That's not so good lol, its such a basic thing that you would have thought auto desk would have implemented, like they have in 3d max,not a fan of 3d max tho unfortunately

Thank you anyway

Nyro
10-15-2010, 02:46 PM
I fear you might have not described your issue clearly enough.

An edgeloop on a circle? Why don't you post a screenshot of the model in question and maybe use photoshop to point out where you want the edgeloop to be. I'm having a hard time visualising your problem based on your description alone.
Judging by my own experience, having to clarify/post just to find out what someone is asking about deterrs potential problem solvers from actually taking on your issue. We're a lazy bunch ;)

ezekiel66
10-15-2010, 04:07 PM
Is there a way to insert an edge loop into a circle and keep the correct curvature instead of the curve being flattened. I'm use Maya

Apart from the fact that you cannot insert an edge loop into a circle (due to the fact that a curve circle does not have any edges. What you are talking about probably is a poly cylinder or torus): no, there isn't. And I do not know of any 3D program that has such a feature implemented.

You have to either tweak the vertices by hand, or maybe move the appropriate edges by assigning a push operator.

Nyro
10-15-2010, 04:33 PM
Ah sorry, now I think I understand what the issue is.