PDA

View Full Version : DOF in Layout


SubDProxy
10-07-2010, 01:25 AM
Is it possible to activate DOF in Layout. Currently on a project and trying to look at DOF in OpenGL and having no luck. Any ideas?

earwax69
10-07-2010, 01:39 AM
yes, setup your camera dof settings and activate the DOF/MB preview in the dropdown menu at the top left of each preview windows, next to the View menu (front, perspective...) and the shading menu (wireframe, shaded...).

SubDProxy
10-07-2010, 01:52 AM
Thank you for the quick response. I setup DOF in camera settings, turned it on in the drop down menu. Now everything went to wireframe. I tried adjusting it the display options but still the same. Hmmm. Thanks.

earwax69
10-07-2010, 06:18 AM
Strange, it work well for me with any shading mode. I would try to play a bit with the opengl preferences... Or maybe its a bug with your version?

biliousfrog
10-07-2010, 10:11 AM
I'm not sure whether anything changed with recent versions but DOF preview used to be Shift+F9...I do all DOF in post, much faster.

earwax69
10-08-2010, 01:29 AM
I always had bad result especially around edges while doing DOF in post. Its ok sometime but most of the time its not enough for a final product. I use an hybrid of both method, using the camera DOF with around 0.04 or 0.03 of anti-aliasing and I blur it a bit further (to kill the noise) with Dpond DOF node. It give me good result without longer render time.

As both DOF are cumulative, you double the F-stop and voila.

SubDProxy
10-08-2010, 03:03 PM
I need to check out the DPONT DOF Node then. I like his other plugins. Thanks for the advice.

LW-pet
10-08-2010, 04:29 PM
*marginal

http://vimeo.com/14573441

http://www.spinquad.com/forums/showthread.php?29217-Bulbs-%28dof-experiment%29

Cageman
10-08-2010, 10:51 PM
I tried adjusting it the display options but still the same. Hmmm. Thanks.

Make sure your bounding box setting is higher than the number of polygons in the scene.

Preferences -> Bounding Box Threshold

Cageman
10-08-2010, 10:54 PM
I'm not sure whether anything changed with recent versions but DOF preview used to be Shift+F9...I do all DOF in post, much faster.

In recent versions of LW (I think it was v9.2 that introduced this) you can activate DOF/MBlur in the dropdown menu for each viewport.

This allows you to make OGL previews with DOF/MBlur, rather than just doing it on a single frame with the old Shift+F9... and... Shift+F9 only showed DOF, not MBlur.

:)

SubDProxy
10-09-2010, 08:02 PM
Got it working, I appreciate the help. I also tried Digital Confusion with the still images and it seemed the same. I will have to tinker around with it more. Thanks.

CGTalk Moderation
10-09-2010, 08:02 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.