PDA

View Full Version : Can people help me modeling a can?


JDMedia
10-06-2010, 12:08 PM
Can people help me modeling a can?

I made the base model, but I don't know how to add the details?

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=43&t=924914

meathelix
10-06-2010, 12:15 PM
I would convert it to a edittable poly and then start extruding the faces for the top part of your Can. if thats what your asking.

JDMedia
10-06-2010, 12:26 PM
No I want to add the lines that mark the spot where the can opens etc...

meathelix
10-06-2010, 12:41 PM
Ok well im still refreshing my brain at this point in time. :P I just created one myself what I would do for the can opening was Delete faces ontop-Use border selection-Cap tool. then you can start making your lines

JDMedia
10-06-2010, 02:29 PM
Maybe I'll try a displacement map

Yacoodle
10-09-2010, 09:15 AM
well if you actually wish to model them in (even for a normal map you'll need to model it in to create a high poly mesh to project).

First off you need to clean up the top of the can. to do that you need to make it all quads.

It might be easier to redo the can with around 14 or 16 sides so as to make it easier to quad it out.

Anywho, create the quads, then you need to adjust the loop (or cut in depending on the amount of faces available) so as to create the can opening part. At that point, extrudes should handle it. Hope this helps.

CGTalk Moderation
10-09-2010, 09:15 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.