PDA

View Full Version : How to use masks as selections for painting?


Disgustipated
10-04-2003, 04:54 AM
I have a background plate that needs some shadows painted out. I have created a roto shape that isolates the area in which I want to paint in. How can I turn the shape into a selection so when I paint, I only paint in that area. I was hoping to use the reveal brush to offset frames that don't have the shadows. If this is the wrong approach, I would appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks,

Todd

Chris
10-05-2003, 01:00 AM
Create your Paint operator, then just select your mask in the workspace panel, copy it & paste it into the paint operator. In the mode section change the drop down from "mask" to "selection" then paint away merrily (you can probably just delete your original mask operator, as you may not need it anymore)

Disgustipated
10-05-2003, 01:26 AM
Thanks Chris, I new there was a way. You just made my job much easier.

Take care,

Todd

CGTalk Moderation
01-16-2006, 07:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.