PDA

View Full Version : Can you access and change vertex ids?


redwhitejacket
09-30-2010, 03:52 AM
Let's say you have two models (ie: base mesh and blendshape) with the same number of polys, but entirely different vertex ids. Is it possible to write a script that will start at the same vertex on both models, traverse the edges and change the vertex ids of one model (the blendshape) to the same value of the vertex id in the other model (the base mesh)??

Thanks

nessus
10-01-2010, 01:25 AM
Yes, this is very possible. In fact Maya actually ships a plug-in in source code which does just that.
Look into your "devkit/plug-ins" folder, there should be a sln called "meshReorder".

CGTalk Moderation
10-01-2010, 01:25 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.