PDA

View Full Version : python's maya.standalone dll failures.


ooklah
09-29-2010, 06:15 PM
I've been working on attempting to use the maya.standalone modules for an external python interpreter.
So far I've managed to get it to load without any issues but using a simple test of making a sphere, it informs me that it could not dynamically load the PolySlice.dll. I'm finding very little help on this subject in general, so hopefully someone can help me out.

Here's my test script:

import os, sys
mayaLoc = "c:/Program Files (x86)/Autodesk/Maya2009"
mayaPy = "/Python/lib/site-packages"
os.environ["MAYA_LOCATION"] = mayaLoc
os.environ["PYTHONPATH"] = mayaLoc + mayaPy
sys.path.append(mayaLoc + mayaPy)
os.environ["MAYA_NO_BUNDLE_RESOURCES"] = "notzero"
import maya.standalone
maya.standalone.initialize()
import maya.cmds as mc
mc.polySphere()

which produces:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<pyshell#73>", line 1, in <module>
mc.polySphere()
File "C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Maya2009\Python\lib\site-packages\maya\app\commands.py", line 16, in dummyFunc
maya.cmds.dynamicLoad( library )
RuntimeError: Unable to dynamically load : PolySlice.dll
The specified procedure could not be found.

Dynamic load failed : PolySlice.dll

nessus
09-30-2010, 12:57 AM
Is your external Python interpreter the identical version of the one that Maya uses? I tried your code with my external python which is the same version of mayapy.exe, and it works just fine.

ooklah
09-30-2010, 05:25 PM
Thanks, I was using 2.5.2 where-as the mayapy.exe is telling me 2.5.1.

CGTalk Moderation
09-30-2010, 05:25 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.