PDA

View Full Version : Duplicating and adjusting the inputs?

ManaDragon
09-22-2010, 01:08 AM
Hey guys, 'tis my first post here. Howdy Howdy.

I'm pretty familiar with 3D software as far as 3DS Max goes. I picked up maya a few months ago and I'm creating a kitchen for a client. I have kept everything as close to scale as I possibly can but while I'm making some cabinets, I wanted to lessen the workload with duplication.

When you first create an object, in the Channel Box/Layer Editor, you have a section for Inputs that allow you to adjust width, height, etc. Duplicating is easy, but when you duplicate, you lose your work history, or construction history, whatever it's called. I'm still learning so I'm not entirely sure why this goes away when you duplicate an object. But let's say I have a cabinet that is width = 24, height = 34, depth = 22 (in inches).

I have done some modeling inside "Cabinet 1." I want to duplicate this cabinet over, and add a few inches to the width because it's technically the same cabinet, only wider. But I can't seem to recreate those Inputs to change the width, so all I can think of is remembering my extrusions and repeating the process for each cabinet. Or, I can duplicate the cabinet, and use another cube as a guide (containing the exact measurements) and eyeball-Scale the duplicated object.

Being a sort of perfectionist, I want the exact dimensions, so I'd rather not use eyeball scaling. Is this something that's normally done or is there an alternative that I'm not aware of? I wasn't exactly sure what to look for in this situation since all the tutorials with some duplicating don't really look back once the object is duplicated.

Nyro
09-22-2010, 08:21 AM
There is are several options available to you when you duplicate an object. Use the options under Edit -> Duplicate Special

Provided your Geometry Type is set to Copy, you can chose from the options at the bottom of the window:

a) Duplicate Input Graph: