PDA

View Full Version : Hot to modify a rig

Pancho
09-19-2010, 09:47 AM
I'm pretty new to SI and rigging. Right now I just tried to rearrange one, two bones in an existing bone chain. If I try to move the joint (ctrl+j) I get an "an affected element is controlled in pos or ori" error message.

So let's say I do have a nice rig for a lion and need to change it to fit to a tiger or leopard, how would I do this with all the effectors, constraints, etc., if I already get an error message for some very simple stuff. Which tools would I need to use to do this?

Cheers
Pancho

finalgathering
09-20-2010, 05:26 PM
It could be that the bone's orientation is driven via constraint so you can't modify it.
You may want to get acquainted with the schematic, I find it works great to detect if an object has constraints expressions or any other links.
I don't suggest you use that tool (ctrl+j) as it may/will break the resolution plane in IK situations.

I only use that to fine tune a chain when you just drew it while it's still on the XY or YZ views.
You’re better off modding the length of the bone (length is inside the bone's ppg) not scale.

If I'm unhappy with a certain chain. First i see where it's attached at the root and effector.
Then recreate it and add an up-vector if it needs one (ik).

Pancho
09-20-2010, 06:36 PM
That's something I realized by now, too. Constraints prevent you from moving or rotating certain things. So, how would I alter a proper rig to match it to another mesh? For instance tiger to dog, eagle to dove. In general it's just the proportions. It can't be that I need to disable all constraints (delete them) just to set them up again as soon as the bone proportions have been matched, can it? I would need to rebuild everything from scratch more or less?! That would be overkill!?

So how would I match my properly working rig to a creature with similar proportions and functions?

Cheers and thanks for the reply

finalgathering
09-20-2010, 10:32 PM