PDA

View Full Version : casting down logo for reflection?

nessjp
10-02-2003, 06:12 AM
Hi,

I have attached the following pic.

How would I go about making a text logo reflect off of the floor alongide the length of my object in the picture. Let's say I wanted my name as the reflection. Rather than make it part of the floor, can I somehow hover it above and strategically place its reflection?

Thanks

In case anybody is wondering what the hell this is, It is what is commonly referred to as a dog-box. I am a CAD designer (solidworks) and I work at a company that designs and fabricates Aircraft interior components and furniture ie, closets, bins, dog-boxes for commercial aircraft.

A dog box is commonly used for stowing miscellaneous or emergency equipment like fire extinguishers, etc and placed on the floor of the aircraft where as a Bird-box is located up near ceiling. This current one is something we are doing right now for a Delta 767-300 and it goes behind passenger seats.

I am planning on doing a few items like this in LW to show how quick the company could do something like this to get a better visualization of the product and possibly even as a sales and marketing tool or for company brochures and whatever. LW can have so many uses at acompany like this (and many companies for that matter) and people do not realize it's potential and how many things it can be used for.

leigh
10-02-2003, 06:26 AM
I'm not *entirely* sure that I understand what you mean (it's pretty late, and I'm in dire need of sleep) - are you wanting to model the logo, and have it reflect in the floor without actually showing in the scene as a 3D object?