PDA

View Full Version : particle flow along animated spline


jobwallis
09-14-2010, 06:39 AM
Hi
I have some PF's constrained to paths for the purposes of showing hydraulic flows.
http://s1.postimage.org/zQ1IJ.jpg (http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=gxzQ1IJ)

I have a functional PF that moves arrows along a pipe to represent flow. Shown at the bottom of screen. Im happy with this.

1. I have some hydraulic hoses simulated as animated splines (shown in the image as the green and red hoses) that are keyframed to move from side to side. I also need the arrows to follow these hydraulic hoses. Currently the "speed by icon" releases the particle where the icon is but i need these to stay "within" the hose. As you can see they represent the path of the icon over time and do not travel along the hose. How can i get these to stay on the animated spline? :hmm:

2. I would like some arrow particles that travel through the turbine and change gradually their colour from red to blue. :lightbulb i can see a "material dynamic" helper. would this assist?

3. Dealing with a number of particle flows that will need the same values, i would like to be able to copy and paste instances of operators from one window to another but copy and paste doesn't seem to work.

any help much appreciated.

scrimski
09-14-2010, 06:51 AM
1. I have some hydraulic hoses simulated as animated splines (shown in the image as the green and red hoses) that are keyframed to move from side to side. I also need the arrows to follow these hydraulic hoses. Currently the "speed by icon" releases the particle where the icon is but i need these to stay "within" the hose. As you can see they represent the path of the icon over time and do not travel along the hose. How can i get these to stay on the animated spline? :
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showpost.php?p=6071819&postcount=4

I would like some arrow particles that travel through the turbine and change gradually their colour from red to blue. :lightbulb i can see a "material dynamic" helper. would this assist?in combination with a particle age map - yes. Keep in mind that a particle age map needs an age test or delete operator.

3. Dealing with a number of particle flows that will need the same values, i would like to be able to copy and paste instances of operators from one window to another but copy and paste doesn't seem to work.

Within one Particle view it should work. Even Shift+Drag should do the trick.

jobwallis
09-14-2010, 11:14 AM
thanks Scrimski
that worked well though there is a more recent version of this script.
unfortunately i cant yet get the alignment to the spline exactly as i need it.
though they do move along an animated spline which is great.
please read on here...
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?p=6690100#post6690100

CGTalk Moderation
09-14-2010, 11:14 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.