PDA

View Full Version : High poly character help

Berserker44
09-14-2010, 12:01 AM
Hello I will make this as quick as I can. I am just beginning to work with zbrush. using gnomon artist Richard Smith's tutorial, i plan on creating a low poly character by building it off of a high poly character. I desperately need help improving this character. any advice and critique would be very welcome. i am looking more for help on the folds and clothing as its just being started out. I am using his model just as a goal/reference and I have nothing but the base anatomy mesh.
thank you for your time

anacostef
09-18-2010, 10:33 PM
Hello there, good luck in your learning zbrush! Looks like you already know your way around them sculpting brushes and subtools, so at this stage there's not much advice you need, other than to keep at it! :)
Am not a big pro myself, but i know how frustrating it is to start learning new software, and zbrush can trick you into forgetting the basics, cause it's got so much wonderful tools going on and you're tempted to try them all.

So I'd say just a couple main things, basics actually, which I try to apply to all my projects, it might help if I remind you of these:

- don't forget the whole picture (in your case, don't be so keen on getting the folds done before you've put all the volumes in place - first make sure your char's got good posture good proportions etc; see there's an issue with the vest subtool, you didn't plan the basemesh properly and when you subdivided the margins moved outside; add a supportive edgeloop near the margin to the basemesh, or just extrude some faces in, that's what i do)

- use reference for everything you do, at least for the realistic models; you have that zbrush sculpt, but you'd be better off using a real ref set of photos, you'd be having all the help you need for the folds/creases too