PDA

View Full Version : Questions on game modelling

Waiise
09-12-2010, 10:27 PM
Hi!
I'm a student in 3D design and animation (first year) and will later on continue with game design as this is what I've always wanted. I don't have much experience in 3D yet, but after only two weeks of school I feel like I've learned a lot and I'm hungry for more and more.

Now onto what this thread is really about: game modelling. While practicing modelling low-poly, several questions have popped up into my mind. And hope that some more experienced modellers can enlighten me!

1. The term low-poly has in recent times confused me. What IS low-poly nowadays. Say God of War 3, or Final Fantasy XIII, I now normal mapping can hide a lot of rough edges, but I wonder - what kinda poly limit is there on modern day games? And what would it have been for say the PS2/GC/Xbox

2. I do have a personal game design project on my hands, and for that I require character models. Is there a general way of doing characters for a game? Say I was to make, call it a base mesh of some kind, maybe one for female and one for male and any other like kids. Is this a good way to go about things?

3. Costumes: Do you model them directly onto the character, or model them seperately then put it on the character and delete anything that is unneccessary?

4. Is there a favorable way of starting a character model? Up until now I've started with an 8-sided cylinder and worked my way around my reference images with that.

That is all for now, I might have more questions later on though.

CGmascot
09-14-2010, 12:21 AM
Hi Waiise

1. In my opinion the term 'low-poly' hasn't applied to game models for PC/High-end consoles for some years now with the exception of games with stylised art like WOW, which is indeed low-poly and very well done at that. The more graphics driven games push ridiculous amounts of polygons around.