PDA

View Full Version : Blown out lighting


Demon4231
09-07-2010, 05:19 PM
I'm still learning Maya and I have watched a lot of tutorials on lighting but I can't seem to get my lighting to come out right. I'm using Maya 2011 with Mental Ray. I know what is causing the issue I just don't know how to fix it.

http://img820.imageshack.us/i/lightingn.jpg/ http://img651.imageshack.us/f/lightingwire.jpg/http://i575.photobucket.com/albums/ss194/demon4231/Lighting.jpg http://i575.photobucket.com/albums/ss194/demon4231/LightingWire.jpg

The light on the wall is way to bright.

Here is what I have set:

Irradiance Particles
Rays: 400
Indirect Passes: 1
Scale: 1
Intepolate: Always
Interpoints: 125

Importons
Density: 0.090
Merge Distance: 0
Max Depth: 3

I have the Area Light setup as a Portal light with a Intensity Multiplier of 40 and the directional light is a Physical Sun and Sky.

playmesumch00ns
09-08-2010, 03:32 PM
Are you applying an appropriate gamma (2.2) to your render when viewing it? That will lift and decontrast everything (you'll need to rebalance your lighting somewhat) which should help.

ALTUVE3D
09-09-2010, 06:20 AM
Hey Demon4231

First of all, I want to apologize if I donīt make sense and for any error.. English is my second language.

Anyways,

Make sure you use Mia_material_x for your textures.

As for the blushiness, you want that but a little bit smaller, so take down your multiplyer about 35.

Add a mia_photographic lense to your camera and play with it till you get the result you desire.

Make sure you switch the RGB values to .3180 in the Sunshape before or after you put the lens to the camera. If you donīt do that your render will be black.

You have your area light over the window, thats why you are getting that black texture. Get your area light and move it back a bit.

Hope it makes sense and helps you out.

Demon4231
09-09-2010, 01:52 PM
Thanks for the tips. I had way too many Rays for the Irradiance Particles. I turned them down to 260 and turned down the Intensity Multiplier to 4. Changing the Intensity Multiplier didn't seem to do anything and I get the same amount of light in the room. Here is my fixed render:

http://i575.photobucket.com/albums/ss194/demon4231/NewLighting.jpg

Thanks for the tip to move the Area Light back, I tried it before but it didn't work. I just tried it now and it works now. I don't know what I did different but it works now.

Some of the lighting on the walls is a little spotted but I just have to mess around with the rays and stuff for a bit.

CGTalk Moderation
09-09-2010, 01:52 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.