PDA

View Full Version : polygon displacement


wowdermonkey
01-17-2002, 12:01 AM
I was wondering if there was a way to get a smooth displaced polygon surface in XSI without cranking up the poly tessalation (i.e. normal smoothing)?

Thanks

mr-doOo
01-17-2002, 05:42 AM
this is a bug of 1.5 fixed in 2.0...if you can use nurbs :(

Cab
01-17-2002, 08:00 PM
Normally... You can use the adaptive subdivision on polys when you are using displacement map textures... The fact that youre displacement is not smooth might have something to do with youre texture too... But anyways... If you use the adaptive subdivision to get more definition on youre object when rendering... make it view dependent or pixel related depending if you are using softimage or XSI... But be careful... Sometimes, if you are rendering on multiple machines and they are not seted up the same, you might have some pop up frames... If that is the case, use the curvature parameter... It will be heavier to render, but you reduce the chances of having some weird pop ups on youre frames...

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 01:26 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.