PDA

View Full Version : Really struggling with render setup...

ChrisEngland
09-01-2010, 11:57 PM
Hi guys,

I'm relatively new to Maya and I'm trying to come up with a good render setup, but I've had a few problems that have left me completely stumped. I was hoping a few of you on here might have some idea of what I was doing wrong?

Essentially, I'm looking to render out some animations. I have a good quality, well animated model that you can see here when rendered up at a good resolution, in a stationary shot, just as is displayed within Maya:

http://www.xenonauts.com/devimages/soldierMaya.jpg

What I need to do is find a render setting that will maximise the detail I can get into a small tile, about a tenth that size. So far, the best I've come up with is this:

http://www.xenonauts.com/devimages/soldierRender.png

I've had trouble with the lighting washing out the fine detail, and the same with the anti-aliasing, and overall I think the small image has a sort of smooth plastic look, like a toy soldier. Anyone got any suggestions how I can make it a bit crisper? That image is actually using Maya Software render, as I find mental ray makes it even more plastic-y in appearence...

Thanks in advance to anyone who helps out!

nmcelmury
09-02-2010, 05:16 PM
That's a tough one considering how small your final output looks like it's going to be. I can't say I've ever rendered something out for a resolution so small, but maybe try giving him a bit more of a dramatic lighting setup with a hot rim light to really accent his edges, and toning down your fill lights a little bit. Hopefully that can pull out a bit of contrast in your image.
Again I've never output something so small, but might be worth a shot!

stuh505
09-02-2010, 05:36 PM
Render the sprites out at a higher resolution, then use a Photoshop Action to downsize all of them using bicubic sharper filtering mode.