PDA

View Full Version : Using particles/smoke to "streamline"


bugme143
09-01-2010, 11:20 PM
We've all seen it. A glass box, smoke coming out one end and a car in the middle. I have the car, I have an emitter, and I have a fan, as illustrated below.
http://i969.photobucket.com/albums/ae173/bugme143/thecar.jpg

http://i969.photobucket.com/albums/ae173/bugme143/thecarscenes.jpg

Now, I am trying to simulate said car lab, but am having difficulty. The car and the road are both Passive rigid bodies. Any ideas, or am I going to have to insert the smoke and use that?

mduvekot
09-02-2010, 12:30 AM
Better take a look at the [Dynamics] Fluid Effects->Get Fluid Example... Miscellaneous: WindTunnel.am

bugme143
09-02-2010, 01:46 AM
how would I do it? make a fluidic volume container?

i know what I'm asking is probably obvious... and i apologize in advance.

mduvekot
09-02-2010, 12:32 PM
Read the notes section in the Attribute Editor for the windTunnelShape node.

mandark1011
09-02-2010, 03:42 PM
you need to dial up your substeps. Depending on how fast your particles are travelling they may have intersected the surface in between frames.
But as thinkr has mentioned the windtunnel preset has a nice expression for setting in velocity to normalize velocities through a fluid container, perfect for this type of effect.

CGTalk Moderation
09-02-2010, 03:42 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.