PDA

View Full Version : Best way to achieve this look?

Natious
08-27-2010, 01:59 AM
hey guys, im kinda new to dynamics and was hoping to pull something off like this for a uni project

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qD-BWlBeFmw

Ive gotten particles to emit from a object with a animated ramp see here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nmS6Et0CfLM

I know it doesn't look like much, but it was a first try at disintegrating something, i just dont know where to go from here to have nice looking particles, or is the above fluid effects?

any advice would be great, thanks!

mandark1011
08-27-2010, 03:13 AM
what you have is a similar treatment to the car.....but you need ALOT more particles and try changing your particle type to streak or multistreak then rendering out of the hardware render buffer. That will give you easy control over your motion blur and quick render turn arounds.

My guess would be that that is how this effect was done but whether or not it was maya or something like Krakatoa.. houdini who knows. This effect is definitely achievable in maya tho.

good luck

Natious
08-27-2010, 03:25 AM
Hi, thanks for the reply, ill try that out asap and see how it goes, also, it was done in maya, the guy who did it is floating around on this forum somewhere, but said he was too busy to lend a hand

efecto
08-27-2010, 03:50 AM
Hi, thanks for the reply, ill try that out asap and see how it goes, also, it was done in maya, the guy who did it is floating around on this forum somewhere, but said he was too busy to lend a hand

Hope this helps.
http://www.thegnomonworkshop.com/tutorials/gravity_vs_uniform/gravity_vs_uniform.html

Natious
08-27-2010, 06:04 AM
This may seem stupid and simple, but i cant seem to figure out how to change the colour if i change the particles to streaks/multi streak

jdj
08-27-2010, 07:01 AM