PDA

View Full Version : getting into character modeling

blamejane
08-26-2010, 04:35 PM
I'm just getting into character modeling and wanted to ask this question...

Do most character modelers start with the T-pose?

That is, while looking at work by others I see these great characters in really great poses. I'm still in the t-pose phase of my characters, so they seem to have no "life" to them. I'm trying to be patient and finish the modeling, looking past their boring exteriers, but it got me thinking if this is what everyone does. Model first, then rig and pose.

Valerie

Calabi
08-26-2010, 05:36 PM
I'm no expert(by a million miles) this is just my opinion. But if your going to animate a model then yeah you would rig and position it at the end. If I'm going to just sculpt a static presentation model then I'd move it as soon as possible. Like block out the basic proportions. Then position it how I want to then refine and detail it.

Roninfang
08-26-2010, 06:08 PM
well usually you start at a neutral pose so that when it comes to rigging it will be a lot easier and its easier to check proportions and such from a neutral pose

blamejane
08-26-2010, 06:32 PM
Thanks for the replies, they make a lot of sense.

In my case I have one character that I'd like to consider using in several stills, but in different poses. So I'm not animating per se, but I do want/need the ability to change his position. My other character I think should then be posed early-on, in the low poly stage.

This answers my question.

...thanks again for the help.

Valerie

CGmascot
08-26-2010, 06:59 PM
I'm sure you can find lots of different opinions for this. Some may start from a more natural, arms almost down-pose because then it is easier to model and sculpt a natural shape. Then they may change it to T before rigging. Some keep to T-pose for modeling, rig the character and fine tune the mesh when posed more naturally.