PDA

View Full Version : Rail Extrude with multiple profile curves?

Monster Jack
01-16-2002, 08:16 PM
I'm still learning the modeler in lightwave (have experience with MAX and Rhino). I can't seem to find any info or methods for creating a rail extrude with 2 rail curves and multiple "profile" curves -- surely lightwave can do this simple modeling process - does anyone know how?

Also in another area - is there any type of 3d snap tool?

Any info is much appreciated

gracias.
- J

floca
01-17-2002, 07:36 PM
Well sorry i cant help with either of your questions....I am a native max user too but I love modeling in lw......I would suggest checking these sites for answers, although some of the tutorials might be a little older they should still be good to get the idea of what your looking for.....or look in the manual and if you lost it or want an online version.......i read that you can download it off of newteks ftp.....but i wasnt able to find it......so if you find it give me a shout..........

Lightwave tutorials on the web (http://members.home.net/lightwavetutorials/Main_Menu.htm)
Flay.com (http://www.flay.com)

hope these help
Damon

Monster Jack
01-17-2002, 08:54 PM
Floca,

Thanks for your response. You actually can’t do a Rail Extrude with multiple profile curves – I can’t believe it! It’s such a simple and powerful modeling process.

I did figure out how to pull of a similar modeling process though using “MAKE SPLINE PATCH” multiple times – it just doesn’t give you the curve transitions that the multiple profile curves would. Basically it makes you do more work with less precision; hopefully they will fix this in 7.x.

Also, LW evidently does not have a “real” 3d snap tool like the other high-end modelers. Oh well, maybe in 7.x