PDA

View Full Version : highly detailed model of NYC?


Skeletrooper
08-18-2010, 05:44 PM
Looked high and low for a medium- to high-poly model of New York City to purchase, but can't find one. Any ideas?

Perhaps a highly detailed AutoCAD model?

Looking in the range of 1 million+ polys. Textured not necessary.

korthuran
08-18-2010, 07:44 PM
A one million poly highly detailed model of New York probably doesn't exist. If you just want a building or two you might be able to find one or get somebody to build it for you. But if you want the whole city it's unlikely it will be very detailed.

Skeletrooper
08-19-2010, 06:45 PM
One or two buildings? I am doing a fly-over...I need the whole city. Anyone familiar with this model?

http://www.3dworldclub.com/preview.aspx?ModelCode=16413

Anyone familiar with 3D World Club? Sounds sketchy...

TurNEo
08-21-2010, 06:50 AM
I don't know that model, but it seems low-poly.
Turbosquid didn't give you any results?

Edit: http://www.turbosquid.com/3d-models/modular-city-buildings-hd-3d-max/502633
this seems too small and too expensive for what you mentioned but still..

DeMatti
08-22-2010, 12:35 PM
if you're doing a flyover you won't need a million poly model, low poly should be more than enough, or mid-poly is also optional... I don't think the model you want exists, though, NYC is waay to big to make a model of the entire city. not by yourself anyway. you might wanna try contacting movie studios, maybe: they usually have lots of CG of known cities, so maybe you get lucky and find a model of downtown?

just trying to help :)

Skeletrooper
08-22-2010, 04:08 PM
Thanks for your help everyone. Yes, a mid-size poly model would be sufficient for the flyover, but the camera needs to slow down near Times Square. It does need to look true to NYC. Maybe I'll find a model of just midtown Manhattan? Or just a generic city, and throw in some landmarks (empire state, etc.).

Yeah, NYC as a 3d model has been featured in a ton of movies...but probably out of my price range LOL

Gonna keep looking...

Autarkis
08-22-2010, 04:54 PM
Well then a mid poly version of NYC would work for you, with a higher resolution version of Time Square / Manhattan for when the camera slows down.

You can try looking at the google3d warehouse (http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/search?q=NYC&styp=m ) that's the link that comes up for NYC. I'm pretty sure all those buildings are low poly but it could serve as a low poly base for your modeling.

You could also use something like cityengine ( http://www.procedural.com/ ) and create a few high res props and arrange everything onto an open street map of NYC ( http://www.openstreetmap.org/ )

Just some of your options. If you're using 3d studio max or maya there are a couple scripts out there to quickly model buildings with floor plans and various options that would work pretty good, for free.

Hope that helps?

Skeletrooper
08-23-2010, 03:11 PM
Autarkis, you truly are made of vertices! And I knew I should have gone to SIGGRAPH this year...CityEngine looks amazing!

I'll give that a shot. Maybe add a few landmarks from Google 3D warehouse.

CGTalk Moderation
08-23-2010, 03:11 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.