PDA

View Full Version : Ptex with Maya


cavemen
08-18-2010, 05:01 AM
Hey
Guys just wondering if anyone of you have tried working with Ptex and Maya ?

ndeboar
08-18-2010, 06:33 AM
there arn't really any consumer "off the shelf" ways of rendering ptex. The next version of RMS will support it. Not sure if any other renderers other the Prman plan support either?

Hamburger
08-18-2010, 08:24 AM
Vray added ptex support recently, at least thats the note im the change log.

haggi
08-18-2010, 08:49 AM
Mantra in houdini 11 has ptex support.

oglu
08-18-2010, 11:55 AM
Vray added ptex support recently, at least thats the note im the change log.

cant find anything about that...

cgbeige
08-18-2010, 02:44 PM
Vray added ptex support recently, at least thats the note im the change log.

hey, look - there it is:

[feature request] Implement the "PTex" file format - resolved.

Best $850 I ever spent.

oglu
08-18-2010, 02:54 PM
this is not in sp5...
i have no vray lic so i have no acces to hotfixes of stuff like this... im only reading the news...

cgbeige
08-18-2010, 03:02 PM
it's in the nightlies. Contact them to get access to them

more info:

Hello David,

PTex files must be loaded through the special VRay PTex texture, not through the File texture (it's way down in the Create Render Node dialog). Also, some programs like 3DCoat do not seem to produce valid PTex files at present.

oglu
08-18-2010, 03:15 PM
aaa thanks for info...

SreckoM
08-18-2010, 03:47 PM
Also, some programs like 3DCoat do not seem to produce valid PTex files at present.
Can someone suggest program that does this well?

oglu
08-18-2010, 04:02 PM
there is no one...
mari and mudbox are in development for ptex...
the only production ready tool is inhouse at disney... :D
and some other inhouse stuff...

SreckoM
08-18-2010, 04:16 PM
Unfortunately I am outhouse :)

oglu
08-18-2010, 04:21 PM
here is some info from the presentation at siggraph...
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showpost.php?p=6650963&postcount=97

and here the vid he is talking about...
http://area.autodesk.com/siggraph/video23

Bitter
08-18-2010, 07:17 PM
If Mudbox begins support, it's only a matter of time before other Autodesk products begin support as well.

Autodesk is trying to unify their software so they can share technology. This helps them save money on development by using the same modules in all their products and supporting them with one set of staff.

Not sure how long this will take. Maybe the next release depending on complexity.

lunat1k
08-19-2010, 07:59 AM
There was a mention over at the 3delight forums that they will add ptex.

CGTalk Moderation
08-19-2010, 07:59 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.