PDA

View Full Version : car rendering

truedragongleam
08-14-2010, 09:00 AM
Hi,

I need some tips on how to render a car in maya. Can someone help me?

Thanks

Yann1ck
08-14-2010, 09:41 AM
Hi you have to be more precise. Do you want to render a studio like shot or exterior. Will it be using a backplate or a cg environment?
In the case of a studio shot, you usually need to build a simple backdrop like a curved surfaces and then place lights and bounce cards to create reflection and hightlight on the car. For a backplate shot, well you need a photo for the backplate and a hdr image that match the location. Then again you usually add lights and bounce cards if necessary.

truedragongleam
08-14-2010, 12:02 PM
Thanks for the response.

Sorry about being vague I am pretty new at this rendering stuff.
Yeah, I am looking at doing a studio like shot using a cg environment.

Can you tell me how this is done in more detail(how to use glass and car paint shaders, etc.)? Or maybe a link that would teach how to proceed with this render? Thanks

KaMate
08-14-2010, 12:45 PM
Thanks for the response.

Sorry about being vague I am pretty new at this rendering stuff.
Yeah, I am looking at doing a studio like shot using a cg environment.

Can you tell me how this is done in more detail(how to use glass and car paint shaders, etc.)? Or maybe a link that would teach how to proceed with this render? Thanks

Take a look at the Digital Tutors one on Maya Render Passes and Toxik/Composite. For the Beginner I think it explains it the best. Being like that Toxik is thrown in for free.

truedragongleam
08-15-2010, 08:57 AM
Thanks you!

truedragongleam
08-16-2010, 09:00 AM
Hi,

I did this render in mental ray with a hdr image. I am having trouble shading the glass for the headlight of the car. I did not model the inside of the car so I decided to keep the windows dark. Could somebody shed some light on this?

Thanks

Ash-Man
08-16-2010, 02:30 PM
just Google and you will see many of them