PDA

View Full Version : Cutting polygons at exact distances?


Andrewe1
08-13-2010, 03:34 AM
Hello,

When modelling using polys, sometimes I need to slice my model and add a polygon that has to be the exact same size of another polygon in the same model......

I've always done it by approximation but I wonder if theres any tool for replicating the polys within the same model?

Cheers :beer:

JustinPunio
08-13-2010, 11:20 PM
What about duplicating the polygon, combining the clone with the original? I'm not sure if that would work for you..?

Other than that, I don't know what software you are using, but if it is Maya you can get some scripts like MJPolyTools that do a lot of different types of 'cutting' etc... especially when I need multiple edges that are the exact distance apart...

Also is it a symmetrical model?

CGTalk Moderation
08-13-2010, 11:20 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.