PDA

View Full Version : Male head mesh study - anatomy

RicardoM
08-12-2010, 01:22 PM
Hello, I'm working on this model to get better on human head anatomy, but now I feel it has problems around the eyes in the bone structure and can't figure it out whats the problem. I watched the model too long and now I'm unsure what to do. Beside this if someone seeing any proportional problems, please tell me.

Because its my first post here is a little background about me.
I worked in the game developer industry as general 3D artist for four years. In this time I dabbled in animation and low poly character modeling, but now I'm trying to specialize myself as a character modeler in the game industry.

Any advice is highly appreciated, thank you for your time.

http://a.imageshack.us/img840/5834/genheadmalef.jpg
http://a.imageshack.us/img831/8844/genheadmaletrd.jpg
http://a.imageshack.us/img716/2482/genheadmales.jpg

Kanga
08-19-2010, 02:18 AM
There is some good stuff going on there.

The face is flat. Put two fingers on the extremities of your eye corners and pull your hand away keeping the fingers still. See how much angle there is.
The brow is indeed worried. Normally you use a neutral expression which makes it easier to go to extremes of expression on either side for animation. People can have that hang dog structure but it takes some chops to pull it off and keep it relaxed on a model.
Are these perspective views in zb? Press the P key to check.
Put a model of a skull under your sculpt and use transparency to see what is going on.
http://www.art-werx.com/broken/skel.jpg
The ears are too pinned back and I miss that dish that supports the scallop of the ear. Also the flap that guards the ear hole from the front isnt there yet.

RicardoM
08-19-2010, 10:34 AM
Hey, thanks for the reply !
Yes, I see what you mean, the face is indeed too flat. Eyebrows and the cheekbones should have better curvature.