PDA

View Full Version : Modeling a Panel Line


jemjemjem
08-12-2010, 05:45 AM
Hey guys, just doing some modeling practice with this picture i found at http://conceptships.blogspot.com/ .

http://fc06.deviantart.net/fs70/f/2010/193/3/a/Dreadnought_Jaggernaut_by_KaranaK.jpg



just wondering how should I model the panel lines on the ship?

Do I have to physically model it in or is a bump map sufficient?

korthuran
08-12-2010, 06:23 AM
Depends on how you build it.

If it's low poly go with bump/normal.

If it's high poly build it in.

jemjemjem
08-12-2010, 07:17 AM
hmm okok,

but what if my topology does not line up with the panel lines?

do i really need to have my topology follow the panel lines?

p.s how do i upload my pics here, would like to share my WIP

Teloni
08-12-2010, 01:20 PM
Since you are doing it for practice, I might model it high resolution. Make it so that it would hold up well in close-up shots. In that case, you should have your topology following the shape of the panels. Check out some of the hard surface modeling tutorials out there, like this one from Grant Warwick:

http://vimeo.com/10941211

PS to attach images click the Manage Attachments button below the new post fields

korthuran
08-12-2010, 08:11 PM
hmm okok,

but what if my topology does not line up with the panel lines?

do i really need to have my topology follow the panel lines?

p.s how do i upload my pics here, would like to share my WIP

Build it in sections as if it were real. That makes it easier to handle the mesh.

Of course if you don't intend to render anything close up you could just go with a bump/normal with the high poly. It really depends on what you want to do.

jemjemjem
08-13-2010, 02:30 AM
Since you are doing it for practice, I might model it high resolution. Make it so that it would hold up well in close-up shots. In that case, you should have your topology following the shape of the panels. Check out some of the hard surface modeling tutorials out there, like this one from Grant Warwick:

http://vimeo.com/10941211

PS to attach images click the Manage Attachments button below the new post fields

Hey Teloni, great link, very helpful...appreciate it

jemjemjem
08-13-2010, 02:34 AM
Hmm now I have another question if you don't mind. Say I want to have a high poly ship in the foreground and a low poly 1 in the background.

So what should my workflow be like?. Do I build till a certain and stop and save it out let that be my low poly. Then continue on to do my high poly.

I was wondering is there any tutorials on how to create normal maps within Maya, because Ive only seen tutorials on how to do it in Zbrush

Silverd4st
08-13-2010, 10:00 AM
I think there is 2 ways to go about this...

1. Model the high poly and optimize it after to get to low poly
2. Model the low poly ( get the shapes there ) and then build of form that to get the high version.

For this shape i'd go for option 2.

CGTalk Moderation
08-13-2010, 10:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.