PDA

View Full Version : BEGGING for help. How to skin and keep smooth?

pajhonka
08-08-2010, 07:10 PM
Hi,
I've been using Maya for a long time, but I'm a total novice when it comes to rigging and animation. I don't understand how you bind a model to a skeleton and animate while keeping the geometry smooth. I have a pretty high-poly model I'd like to animate but when I bind the skin/paint weights, the polygons spike and the geometry does not stay smooth. Should I be converting this to a sub-d and rigging the polygon cage? Or do people use Subdiv Proxies? How is this done? Please help!

http://www.kevinburkeportfolio.com/high_poly.png

bowly
08-09-2010, 12:21 PM
The problem sounds like the joints have been moved after the skinning process. If you move your joints after skinning the model then as soon as you paint weights the verticies will instantly move in the direction you moved the joint, resulting in spiking.

Try simply "detach skin" with "delete history" selected then re-smooth bind your model to the joints this should hopefully sort out any spiking.

Edit:

Btw wen you paint the weights the model shouldn't move at all unless you've moved/ rotated the joints and you bind the low poly model.

mtucker2
08-09-2010, 02:18 PM
I think your input hierarchy just needs to be tweaked. If you hold down the right mouse button on the mesh, then go to Inputs > All Inputs... a window should pop-up with a list of your history. Now just middle mouse drag the Skin Cluster node below the Poly Smooth Face node.

tonytouch
08-11-2010, 08:37 AM
create the skincluster first .... then smooth

other option ( since maya2009 ):