PDA

View Full Version : Shading and Lighting

wickedpraise
08-08-2010, 10:32 AM
This is my first time posting and I wanted to upload some of my work and see where I can improve. These 4 images were from my Shading and Lighting Class.

I was going for a Film Noir style with this one.
http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i255/wickedpraise/Mullins_Ben_SAL_0910_FruitDish_Normal50mm.jpg

I had to learn reflections and refractions for this one.
http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i255/wickedpraise/Mullins_Ben_SAL_0910_PerfumeLighting.jpg

This one was to understand bumps and displacements.
http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i255/wickedpraise/Mullins_Ben_SAL_0910_FruitBowl.jpg

Lastly, this was for my Final for that class. Wall-E feel with modern day humor.
http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i255/wickedpraise/Mullins_Ben_SAL_Final_0910.jpg

stuh505
08-13-2010, 05:50 AM
I like the lighting and contrast on the first one a lot, and the area lighting and overall scene on the last one. The lighting is way too dark and the materials are not right (lambertian?) in the still life. The perfume bottles don't look right to me, I feel like they are missing an exterior glass material that would give white specular highlights.

wickedpraise
08-13-2010, 02:14 PM
Thank you for the reply. As for the still life, are you referring to the texture used, the shading node itself, or the overall feel? The perfume bottles are hard to nail because the double glass. I played around with the settings and I came out with this. Any improvements made?

http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i255/wickedpraise/Mullins_Ben_SAL_0910_RevisedPerfumeBottle.jpg

kelvincai
08-13-2010, 04:15 PM
What renderer and software you used? It might be easier to troubleshoot with more infos.

stuh505
08-13-2010, 06:58 PM