PDA

View Full Version : Normalmap of building facade


dalewb
08-06-2010, 05:58 AM
I'm working on a model right now that will form part of a street-level row of building facades and have not been successful in getting the normal map to show up in UDK. I've been able to produce the normalmap, but the model in UDK appears flat. I wanted to ask, regarding 3DS Max, how I should position the high poly model with respect to the low poly - currently it is placed so that the high-poly covers the low poly.

I almost think the normalmap is inverted because I inverted the normalmap in photoshop and plugged that into UDK I saw what I think the normalmap should look like... kinda - at least I saw something.

Anyways, here is a shot of the viewport - am I doing this right?
http://a.imageshack.us/img7/442/normalmapfacade.th.jpg (http://img7.imageshack.us/i/normalmapfacade.jpg/)
You can see the high-poly out front (it's transparent) with the painted low-poly behind it.
Here's a shot of the normalmap:
http://a.imageshack.us/img14/2630/facadelpnormalsmap.th.jpg (http://img14.imageshack.us/i/facadelpnormalsmap.jpg/)
Thanks in advance for your input!

dalewb
08-06-2010, 03:54 PM
I think the problem was I forgot to delete the turbosmooth modifyer I was using on the high poly model. I also added a glaringly obvious detail to the high poly (a hole in the wall) to better verify it was showing up in UDK without doubt - it is showing up and looking better overall. So I think that about does it.

CGTalk Moderation
08-06-2010, 03:54 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.