PDA

View Full Version : importing DEMS


Koorstag
07-30-2010, 06:30 PM
We have purchased a 5' DEM of an area about 1.5x1.2 miles. When I try to import it as an object into Vue, it comes in with much lower poly grid then 5 feet and so the edges of defined areas of the terrain average out much like blurring a photograph. I really need the terrain to be more accurate, but I don't see any controls to select poly density to fix the problem. I am new to Vue, so I may be missing something basic. I suppose I could just use a displacement map in Maya to get my terrain, but I can't seem to get that to work since the DEM is a file format that Maya doesn't recognize.

Any ideas would be most appreciated.

Martin

Wabe
07-31-2010, 07:58 AM
How have you imported the DEMs? My way normally is to create a terrain (standard), reset that and then load the DEM as picture. You then get a bitmap if you want to use it somewhere else and have more control in the terrain editor.

CGTalk Moderation
07-31-2010, 07:58 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.