PDA

View Full Version : need help with shader in particle flow

dileepyedla
07-29-2010, 06:13 AM
Hi I am new to particle flow.. I have created a shader and i applied to particle flow. But its effecting the whole particle system as one shader.

I want the shader to apply to individual particle separately....

help me out in this.... My requirement is I wanna create a shader similar to particleCloud shader in maya...

charan.....

Orbital101
07-31-2010, 05:10 AM
I am not sure to understand the question but If you want to apply different shaders to the same event then you might want to try to add a age event then add the second shader or you can try a split event depending your need.

JohnnyRandom
07-31-2010, 11:55 PM
Try Using a Multi Sub-Object material. Create a new MSO, set the number of materials you have, and apply that to your flow. In your material static operator, select assign material ID, and cycle, plus choose the amount of MSO materials.

Note: that the Order of the materials is applied from top to bottom in the flow by particle birth, Particle 1 will get material 1, particle 2 will get material 2, and so on. (I seem to remember typing this exact thing recently, or is it deja-vu?)

EDIT:
help me out in this.... My requirement is I wanna create a shader similar to particleCloud shader in maya...
Since YOU are asking for help, how about taking the time to post an image of what your talking about instead of assuming that people in a max forum know what a "particleCloud shader in maya" is.

Since I am sure you know what a "trivectorized cross product of a normalized tangent to achieve a point radian of an intersect ray" is ;) (lol, thanks Ian :D)

dileepyedla
08-03-2010, 05:46 AM
Thank you for the info.. Maybe my question is little confusing.........