PDA

View Full Version : Pixar eyes?

SandraK
07-23-2010, 10:55 AM
Sigh. They're gorgeous. According to a guy at pixar, they are just perfect spheres with a fancy shader. No iris, no pupil. Just a sphere. He couldn't give any more details, naturally. Weather that's true or not I don't know.

I'm a concept modeler needing to create a cartoony character, but I need to get a better feeling for the character of my sculpts with a good set of eyes. How do I re-create that pixar look? I googled, you-tubed and came across some archived cgsociety threads with dozens of other people wanting a good tut but nothing really solid as far as tutorials are concerned. Anything recent?

Any takers?

joie
07-23-2010, 03:13 PM
You have an in depth explanation in my blog:

http://3djoie.blogspot.com/2008/02/colaboracin-en-el-libro-art-of-3d-toons.html

SandraK
07-24-2010, 01:48 AM
Where abouts is the tutorial link? Only thing I can find is a sneak peak into Artof3dtoonsSneakPeak.pdf ebook.

Teloni
07-24-2010, 04:06 AM
http://www.3dluvr.com/rogueldr/tutorials/eye/eyes.html

SandraK
07-24-2010, 06:10 AM
yeah I found that one before. but I need a how-to not a what-it-is. a step by step tut. I'm not a texture artist.

Plus that tut contains an eye with 4 meshes.

Thanks so far, guys!

Sorry I'm being so picky.

joie
07-24-2010, 10:52 AM
Well, obvisouly you have to BUY the book since this is a kind of high end technique...

... or you can go on searching the web in order to find some valuable information, but I doubt you will in the end :)

P.S.: I only wrote the eye tutorial in that book by the way, but if you buy it, they might offer me to write another one ;)

prazilukJazz
07-24-2010, 11:27 AM
then there is
http://www.creativecrash.com/renderman/downloads/shaders/c/dl_eyeball-slim--2
a really nice Renderman shader (for Slim).

bigbossfr
07-24-2010, 04:35 PM
Edit......

egglybagelface
07-24-2010, 06:22 PM
Well, obvisouly you have to BUY the book since this is a kind of high end technique...