PDA

View Full Version : maya fur (mental ray volume) z-depth???


JanShao
07-21-2010, 11:08 PM
Hi,

short question, how can i get z-depth information for maya fur? I rendered it with mental ray volume but i canīt find z-depth informations for maya fur.

greets

kiryha
07-22-2010, 06:59 AM
I don`t know about volume fur, possible you can get Z from standart MR pass output system (passes tab in render settings).
But you can use another way for render fur with passes (http://kiryha.blogspot.com/2010/06/rendering-fur-with-mental-ray.html)

JanShao
07-22-2010, 06:47 PM
Hi, thx for your help, i will try it out :)

oh, iīhave read that i should use rasterizer (no Raytracing), but other objects in my scene need raytracing. Is there another way without use different render layers for maya fur or HairTk?

agredbeard
07-22-2010, 07:51 PM
I agree with everything kiryha said - and I would follow the advice in the link posted. I am currently working on a project using Maya fur and Puppet's hair_TK shaders, and everything has turned out great. Render with Rasterizer, and make sure the Fur Render Settings are set to use Hair Primitives.

More info on how to use Puppet's hair_TK shader can be found here:
http://www.djx.com.au/blog/2009/04/14/p_hairtk-p_hairtk_shadow-p_shader_replacer/
and
http://www.djx.com.au/blog/2009/11/03/p_hairtk-with-p_shader_replacer-update/

As far as a depth pass goes: Get the puppet TKshaders (http://www.puppet.tfdv.com/download/shaders_p_e.shtml). On a seperate render layer, use Puppet's shader replacer node to apply a black surface shader to the Fur. Use the same MR Rasterizer settings used in regular renders. Then in the render passes tab in MR associate a depthRemapped pass to the render layer. Render... everything will look black... Open the pass in imf display and boom there's your depth pass. :buttrock:

JanShao
07-22-2010, 11:00 PM
hi, thx.....i tested it out already....but in the end of my result i get the fastest method with mental ray volume. Maybe i donīt know the setting secrets for HairTk, but i get no faster results then maya fur (mr primitiv), but you have more tweaking options.....

At the end, i used your tip with the z-depth layer/pass. So i can render it out with mr volume and use the zdepth pass with the help of HairTk, i hope it will work.

Only problem at the moment, i canīt create a layer overide from fur primitiv to fur volume.
How can i do this layeroverride?

agredbeard
07-23-2010, 05:02 PM
As far as I know you can't do that. I don't see why one shouldn't be ABLE to create a layer override, but I'm pretty sure the two different render methods would create different alphas/profiles of the same fur. Combining a volume fur render, and hair primitive render together in post probably wouldn't line up.

CGTalk Moderation
07-23-2010, 05:02 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.