PDA

View Full Version : How To Pose A Model


erk83
07-21-2010, 07:14 PM
When new to modeling what is the best approach to posing your character? I want to create a character in a stance other then the standard T pose and am unsure of the best way to go about this.

Would you model in the T pose and position after using another software? would you have to rig/skin the character and pose? or would you model in the pose you wish to achieve from the get go?

This is for either Maya or 3DS Max.

Thanks for any advice!!

Psyk0
07-22-2010, 04:14 PM
1.You could simply change the rotation tool' "reference coordinate system" to screen and change the pivot point center to "use transform coordinate center". No skinning required, done in a few seconds.

With this method, you change the pivot point of the selected objects (verts, polygons, edges, etc) by moving around on the screen, whatever you target with the tool, will become the new pivot point center (that's what bones are really, just pivot points that control portions of a mesh) It's by far my favorite method followed by transpose master in zbrush.

2.If you have Zbrush, the move/rotate tool (it's basically the same as option 1) or transpose master if you have multiple objects attached to the character.

3.Using character studio's biped and the skin modifier. You have to play around with the proportions of the biped to match your mesh, make sure joints are lined up and then weight the verts.

5.Use a pre-built rig or build your own with bone objects and weight the verts.

CGTalk Moderation
07-22-2010, 04:14 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.