PDA

View Full Version : Modeling a light?


Ultimatum
09-24-2003, 07:37 AM
Hi!

Is there a way to model your own object and use it as a light?
Like a skydome or so.

When I make a skydome and make it 100% illuminated, I need to check radiosity to make it light the scene. But what if I donīt wanna use radiosity. Like if the skydome would be one huge area light which would light the scene from every direction.

Maybe you guys understand... :)

-Ultimatum

SplineGod
09-24-2003, 07:46 AM
You can create a light array for example from an object by assigning it as a luxigon. When the luxigon object is converted in layout a light (of your choice in modeler) will be created along the normal of every polygon, creating a lighting array that is the shape of the object. Is very simple to do.
You can also edit the whole light array in the spreadsheet editor in layout to quickly change the attributes of the light array all at once. :)

Ultimatum
09-24-2003, 08:14 AM
Thanks, gonna try that when I get home. Donīt have LW here at school.

Just some noob questions to get it right :

1. I make a skydome with bout 40 polys facing inwards. Then change that to a luxigon. Where do i make that assignment?

2. Do I open the object in layout like a normal object? What do I do then?


Thanks a bunch!

-Ult

MrWyatt
09-24-2003, 08:27 AM
there is also a plugin for HDRshop where you can use HDRimages to create an Array of Lights that use the HDR info to specify the colour and intensity of the lights. do a surch on flay for it as I cannot remember the name of these Plugs. Itīs one for HDRShop and one for LW ( a loader plugin for the lights)

edit:
just found them.
HDRShop (http://athens.ict.usc.edu/HDRShop/) lightgen (http://www.ict.usc.edu/%7Ejcohen/lightgen/lightgen.html) lightgen2LW (http://www.flay.com/getdetail.cfm?ID=1214)

CGTalk Moderation
01-16-2006, 05:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.