PDA

View Full Version : Sculpting vs Poly Modeling

Doomc
07-20-2010, 09:26 AM
The reason I ask is ever since I started learning 3d/maya about 1 month ago, and even before I started learning, this question has been in the back of my mind. And even though I've read a lot and watched a lot of videos the answer has evaded me. From my ignorant perspective I'm curious why everyone doesn't just sculpt all their models? From what I've seen, the time to sculpt something is light years faster than standard modeling in 3ds or Maya.

I know most people will use both making the base mesh then adding detail in zbrush. But even creating the base mesh can take upwards of an hour when you could already be done with it sculpting. I haven't seen a polygon modeling video of a quality person, or monster that hasn't taken several hours, but I've seen dozens of 15-30 min sculpt videos where they finished the entire thing. So my question would be, what are the actual benefits with poly modeling/nurbs/splines etc compared to sculpting? If it's taking much more time, there must be some kind of benefits to doing it this way.

InfernalDarkness
07-23-2010, 01:21 AM
A very valid but as you stated "beginner" question. The root of the answer comes down to two main factors, both of them being based around animation, as opposed to still renders of objects (sculptures) that never move. It's about topology, and how the model will deform when attached to a character rig.

Poor topology means your mesh will not animate predictably and important techniques like facial animation, expressions, and even simple movements will fall apart or look horrible, or bend and stretch in ways you don't want. You can't just rig up a model and go to town with it and expect to have decent results.