PDA

View Full Version : Mental ray or Vray?

Hakushinkan
07-19-2010, 08:30 PM
Hey guys,

I'm new to rendering.
I managed to figure out that the maya renderer is not that great for realistic results, so I started learning Mental Ray.

I'm quite astonished by the amount of information and experience I need to obtain before I can even start getting good results in mental ray, and while I'm so busy learning those - I keep hearing about Vray.

I couldn't find a single piece of educational material online. No books, no online tutoring, nothing. All I could find out is that it's originally only for max, and lately it's been available for maya as well, and that it's supposed to be the best renderer out there.

So, the deal is, whats all the noise? how can I try it? can I even try it? and how can I learn it? and is it that much better than mental ray?

I'm confused. Please help. Thanks.
:)

DuttyFoot
07-19-2010, 08:45 PM
as far as vray for maya goes you can check this thread

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=87&t=796826

Hakushinkan
07-19-2010, 10:02 PM
Thats a great resource, thanks!

Hamburger
07-20-2010, 01:17 AM
how can I try it? can I even try it? and how can I learn it?

You can try the demo here (you have to create an account before you download):
http://chaosgroup.com/en/2/downloads.html?s=v-ray-maya

Docs:
http://www.spot3d.com/vray/help/maya/150R1/

Hakushinkan
07-20-2010, 01:27 AM
You can try the demo here (you have to create an account before you download):
http://chaosgroup.com/en/2/downloads.html?s=v-ray-maya

Docs:
http://www.spot3d.com/vray/help/maya/150R1/

Thanks m8, now it seems like I have enough material to get into it :)

I'm understanding this renderer is specifically for architectural designs, is that true?

InfernalDarkness
07-20-2010, 03:02 AM
Thanks m8, now it seems like I have enough material to get into it :)

I'm understanding this renderer is specifically for architectural designs, is that true?