PDA

View Full Version : Combining FK/IK

goodvibrato
07-17-2010, 12:26 AM
I'm trying to rig an arm that has both fk and ik. I duplicated the joints of my arm twice, once for fk and once for ik, and then I parent constrained the main skeleton to these. I can switch between fk and ik, the only problem is they don't follow each other. For example I move the arm with fk, but the ik joints stay behind and vice versa. I'm new to rigging so not sure how to fix it.

Darksuit
07-17-2010, 12:45 AM
you dont have to constrain them. You just parnet the root joints all to the same master joint example would be the clavicle. as for not using constraints take a look at
http://www.darksuit.com/tutorials

there is a zipped maya file there that is a Stretchy FI/IK blend arm.

goodvibrato
07-17-2010, 02:49 AM
Thanks Darksuit, I took a look at the scene file. I probably should have used switch instead of blend. What I'm trying to do is move the arm with a 100% IK, then switch to 100% FK without the arm changing position. Just go back and forth like that. As it is right now, I can move the arm with IK, but once I switch to FK, the arm will jump to another position, because the FK joints and the IK joints are separate. The main skeleton is constrained to both. Since they move independently, the main skeleton will jump back and forth between them whenever I make the switch.

Darksuit
07-17-2010, 03:38 AM
if you are just trying to match the FK to IK that becomes a different problem.

one way to solve that is to run a matching script. ie

$rIKx = Arm_L_IK.rotate.x;
setAttrib Arm_L_FK.rotate.x $rIKx;

or something along those lines. That would essentially match the FK arms to the IK arms. Matching the other direction is a bit trickier.

It also comes down to what are you using it for and what is the expected end result.