PDA

View Full Version : Need help/advice!

TheThinkingAtheist
07-10-2010, 10:10 PM
I just joined this site today but I've been checking it out for over a year now. The work on this site is amazing! I really want to start creating character models but I'm a complete noob! I've never done it before but I'm extremely interested in it. What program(s) should I use? I know about 3D's Max and Maya. What about tutorials? Do you guys draw out your ideas first and then start creating the model? Or do you just jump right in and begin modeling your character?

Any advice?

Psyk0
07-11-2010, 04:43 AM
The software won't make a difference, they're all tools that you use to create art, altho zbrush/mudbox/3dcoat can speed up the artistic side of things. Your knowledge of the human structure on the other hand should be your number one concern. So my advice would be taking drawing classes / sculpting of the human form. The top artists don't create awesome work by accident ;).

And yes, creating concept art should be the starting point of your character, it takes away a lot of guess work when you start the process and can be quickly changed to explore different directions.

sundialsvc4
07-11-2010, 09:44 PM
I'd agree. Defer your decision of "Nikon, Canon, or Minolta" for a while because you first need to know how to put things in context. You need to have an understanding of what you're setting out to do, and preferably, to get that exposure in a "product neutral" way.

The learning-curve can feel like "a sip from a firehose while someone's smashing you in the face with a flat iron skillet." There's just too much information, and it's coming at you from all directions at once, and you don't have any context in place to help you sort it all out.