PDA

View Full Version : Too many polygons, hard to animate.

Hakushinkan
07-09-2010, 11:25 AM
Hey,

I'm modeling a car, and I'm not very experienced with smoothing little details.
I created the rim without a tutorial so I had to model and smooth everything on it on my own.
The rim is modeled fine, but I used subdivs to smooth it, and even at level 2 it has far too many polygons.

I can keep working, but as long as the rim is viewed, maya is working pretty slow which really harms my workflow. I don't even want to know what will happen when I take this car into animation.

It works slow only when I turn on shading. On wire frame it only takes a while when I select the rim.

I was wondering if there's a way to view the wheel in a lower complexity, and have it only present the high detail in the final render. That would help me a lot.

Also, sometimes maya suddenly ignores all hotkeys.
This happens out of nowhere in maya 2011 64-bit. It can happen after 10 seconds of working with the software, or after 2 hours, or more. I don't seem to see any trigger for this. Hotkeys for move/scale/rotate stop working, G, Y, F - everything stops working. The only thing that keeps on working is ctrl-S for saving, and probably some other windows commands.

If you know what's causing this and/or how to fix it I'd be very grateful.

Thanks!

Hakushinkan
07-09-2010, 02:09 PM
OK,

I overcame the polygon count problem by recreating the subdiv rim and making it a polygon, vertex method. Now it's perfectly fine and smooth.

The only thing left, is that bug with the hotkeys =\

joryayer
07-09-2010, 02:18 PM
Can you "Show - > Isolate Select" any objects to get around it?

However, to be completely honest, it's hard to really answer this question, especially with the lack of factors being known (PC specs, total poly counts, etc).

Hakushinkan
07-09-2010, 02:22 PM
Can you "Show - > Isolate Select" any objects to get around it?