PDA

View Full Version : how to set default renderer


kamalaRamakrishna
07-08-2010, 08:00 AM
Hi,
After loading plug-ins related to mentalray, how to set it as default renderer.
please help me.

chafouin
07-08-2010, 09:13 AM
In the preference window, rendering, preferred renderer.

kamalaRamakrishna
07-08-2010, 09:23 AM
Thank you,
But i need to do it ,using mel script . Not manually.
Can you help me.

m-u-r-p-h-y
07-08-2010, 10:43 AM
this information is stored in userPrefs.mel file in your default maya location (depending on your OS)

just look for this line -sv "preferredRenderer" "mentalRay"

kamalaRamakrishna
07-08-2010, 11:54 AM
Thank you very much.
Now i am able to do that.

setAttr( "defaultRenderGlobals.currentRenderer" ) -typ "string" "mentalRay";
optionVar -sv preferredRenderer "mentalRay";

This is the way i did.

CGTalk Moderation
07-08-2010, 11:54 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.