PDA

View Full Version : Maya Vray Multi-pass

sonn
07-05-2010, 07:56 AM
Has anyone used Vray in maya with maya's built in multi-pass render layers? are they compatible? How well is the integration? Thinking about diving back into Maya again and I was wondering how well Vray is integrated. Any help is appreciated! :)

djx
07-05-2010, 08:53 AM
I'm new to vray, so someone may wish to correct me, but I think that that the pass system is mentalray only. However you can use vray "render elements" instead, and from my limited experience these are so much easier to use. The only thing I miss is the "pass contribution map" concept, but with object and material IDs and some "multi_matte" elements you can achieve almost the same functionality - with much less effort.

David

cgbeige
07-05-2010, 02:34 PM
djx is right - you use the Render Elements to control passes. If you want an Ambient Occlusion pass, add an Extra Tex element and attach a V-Ray Dirt to the Texture.

raimZ
08-03-2010, 06:05 PM
Hi guys,

Along the same lines...how would one export out a UV pass/element using vray in maya? I want to be able to add extra texture details in compositing. I know how to do it with mental ray only.

Raimy

cgbeige
08-04-2010, 04:55 AM
do you mean a material or object ID for masking comp adjustments? I don't follow - sorry.

bigbossfr
08-04-2010, 05:11 AM
Hi guys,

Along the same lines...how would one export out a UV pass/element using vray in maya? I want to be able to add extra texture details in compositing. I know how to do it with mental ray only.

Raimy

Add extraTex pass. And create your uvpass network.

For contributionmap, just use selectLight pass.

djx
08-04-2010, 12:39 PM
For contributionmap, just use selectLight pass.

I know you can use this for a few passes from specific lights, but are you saying we can use it in other ways too?

David

raimZ
08-04-2010, 02:15 PM