PDA

View Full Version : MR Satellite only uses 16 Threads


kuschel33
07-01-2010, 02:38 PM
Hi there,
we just got a shiny new dual Xeon 5680 with 12(24) Cores but when using it as a satellite slave it only uses 16 Cores.
Maya Version: Windows x64 2010

MSG 0.0 info : adding new host 1 (xeon01:7310)
MSG 0.0 error 011329: mi-ray/tcp: not a service (check %SystemRoot%\system32\drivers\etc\services)
MSG 0.0 warn 012219: using fallback inet service 7003
JOB 0.0 info : started threads 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20,21,22,23 on xeon01:7310 now known as host 1
MSG 1.0 info : version 3.7.53.5, Jun 17 2009, revision 88216
MSG 1.0 info : satellite uses 16 threads
MSG 1.0 info : satellite found 24 logical cores
MSG 1.0 info : mental ray satellite, version 3.7.53.5

Has this anything to do with licensing or is it a bug?
He clearly found 24 cores but does not use all of them.

If anyone of you knows more, please let me know.
Thanks in advance!

derMarkus
07-01-2010, 02:54 PM
Isn't mr for maya satellite limited to 8 phys. cores (which would be 16 with hyperthreading, I think) by it's license? Think so.

kuschel33
07-01-2010, 08:24 PM
I'm not sure. He found 24 logical cores. How should he know how many physical cores exist?!

CGTalk Moderation
07-01-2010, 08:24 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.