PDA

View Full Version : mia material as clearcoat

chandro
06-25-2010, 09:22 PM
its my first time to use mia material as clear coat in car paint, it was really great but theres a strong hot spots , i mean the highlight is so strong. is there a way to minimize it in mia setting? im using maya 2009.

JasonA
06-25-2010, 11:16 PM
Determine if its a reflection problem or a specular problem.

If its specular issue (reflection of your cg lights), then you can reduce or even eliminate altogether the specular effect by lowering the Specular Balance attribute in the mia_material (its under advanced rollout).

if its a normal reflection issue, you'll have to play around with your reflection intensity and/or the BRDF function.

In my experience however, using layered shaders will break the physical correctness of the reflection because it will not be subtractive anymore, which will leave your reflections looking kinda milky..

chandro
07-10-2010, 01:03 AM
yes, after testing and experimenting with the layering for clearcoat seem im not getting the right glossiness.

Dangertaz
07-10-2010, 10:58 PM
JasonA,

What's your approach to a clearcoat then? How do you use a layered shader (mib_mix8 etc) in a physically correct way? Have the blending mode of each layer set to "add" and have the sum of their weight=1?

irwit
07-11-2010, 09:59 AM
Try it a different way round. I use a mia using this to set the glossy metallic reflections using c]]glossy reflections and difuse, then plug in a car paint material to the mia's additional colour and use the car paint for the clear coat and the metallic flakes. Works really well but will take more tweaking to get a correct look as you lose your light conserving ability of just using the mia

chandro
07-12-2010, 02:20 AM